ALAN BENNETT's
HABEAS CORPUS
a filthy farce from a less enlightened age
 

The antics of the Wicksteed home are a darkly satirical merry-go-round in Alan Bennett’s Habeas Corpus.  Family, friends and the quest for sexual pleasures of the body (“corpus”) are the ruling passions in this farcical comedy of ill-manners. Through an escapade of mistaken identities and carnal encounters, one motto holds fast: “He whose lust lasts, lasts longest.”

Multi-award-winning playwright Alan Bennett is also a screenwriter, actor and author. His other works for the stage include The History Boys, The Habit of Art, The Lady in the Van, Talking Heads, The Madness of George III, Kafka’s Dick, Enjoy The Old Country.

As a director, Patrick Marber’s work includes Travesties 
(Menier Chocolate Factory, Apollo Theatre, Roundabout Theatre Company’s American Airlines Theatre) & Leopoldstadt (Wyndham’s Theatre).

 

CAST
 



Kirsty Besterman's recent theatre credits include Macbeth (National Theatre), Genesis Inc (Hampstead Theatre), They Drink It in the Congo (Almeida Theatre) & Tipping the Velvet (Lyric Hammersmith).

Jasper Britton returns to the Chocolate Factory after having appeared in Little Shop of Horrors & Pack of Lies. Other theatre credits include The Sunset Limited (Boulevard Theatre), Witness for the Prosecution (County Hall), The Libertine (Theatre Royal Bath & Theatre Royal Haymarket) & multiple plays for the RSC.

Matthew Cottle has previously appeared at the Chocolate Factory in Communicating Doors. Other theatre credits include The Windsors: Endgame (Prince of Wales Theatre), The Deep Blue Sea & The Chalk Garden (Chichester), How the Other Half Loves (Theatre Royal Haymarket & Duke of York's), Our Country's Good & A Small Family Business (National Theatre).

Ria Jones' recent theatre credits include Sunset Boulevard (London Coliseum, Leicester Curve & UK tour), Gypsy (Royal Exchange Theatre), Guys & Dolls (Théâtre Marigny) & 42nd Street (Théâtre du Châtelet).

Thomas Josling's recent theatre credits include playing George in Sunday in the Park with George (NYMT/The Other Palace).

Caroline Langrishe has previously appeared at the Chocolate Factory in Murderer. Other theatre credits include Hay Fever (Chichester Theatre) & The Nightmares of Carlos Fuentes (Arcola Theatre). Her TV credits include Lovejoy Agatha Raisin.

Catherine Russell's recent theatre credits include What the Butler Saw (Leicester Curve & Bath Theatre Royal), One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest (Leicester Curve), Mamma Mia! (West End) & Talking To Terrorists (Royal Court). Her TV credits include playing Serena Campbell in Holby City.

Abdul Salis' recent theatre credits include Present Laughter & The American Clock (The Old Vic), Distance (Park Theatre), Barbershop Chronicles & War Horse (National Theatre), Boy (Almeida Theatre) & Don Juan in Soho (Donmar Warehouse).


Further cast details will be released shortly.



PERFORMANCE DETAILS

Tuesday - Saturday: 8pm
Saturday & Sunday: 3:30pm

No matinee performances on 5th, 12th & 19th December and 9th January.

Additional evening performances on 6th, 13th & 20th December.

Christmas schedule:

Mon 20 December – 8pm
Tues 21 December – 8pm
Wed 22 December – 8 pm
Thurs 23 December – 8pm 
Fri 24 December – no show
Sat 25 December – no show
Sun 26 December – no show
 
Mon 27 December -   8pm 
Tues 28 December – 3.30pm & 8pm 
Wed 29 December – 8pm
Thurs 30 December – 3.30pm & 8pm
Fri 31 December – 3.30pm
Sat 1 January – 8pm
Sun 2 January – no show
 
Mon 3 January – 3.30 & 8pm 
Tues 4 January – 8pm
Wed 5 January – 8pm
Thurs 6 January – 8pm
Fri 7 January – 8pm
Sat 8 January – 3.30pm & 8pm
Sun 9 January – no show
 
Mon 10 January – no show




TICKET PRICES

We are delighted to offer a range of ticket prices, from discounted preview tickets to Premier seats, with the emphasis on
"The sooner you book, the better the price"