Event Finished

The Lie

September - November 2017

About The Show

The Menier Chocolate Factory is delighted to announce the English language world premiere of Florian Zeller’s The Lie in a translation by Christopher Hampton. The production sees the return of Zeller, Hampton and director Lindsay Posner to the Menier following the huge success of The Truth in 2016, which later transferred to the West End and was nominated for an Olivier Award for Best Comedy.


Samantha Bond – Theatre includes Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (Savoy), Amy’s View (National, Aldwych and Broadway – Tony nomination for Best Featured Actress) and on television, Downton Abbey.

Tony Gardner – Theatre includes Around the World in 80 Days (St James Theatre), The Rivals (Haymarket) and on television Last Tango in Halifax and Fresh Meat.

Alexandra Gilbreath – Theatre includes Dessert (Southwark Playhouse), The Wars of the Roses (Rose Theatre Kingston) and multiple roles for the RSC including Twelfth Night (Olivier nomination Best Actress in a Play).

Alexander Hanson  – Theatre includes last year’s production of Zeller’s play The Truth. His other numerous theatre credits include A Little Night Music (Chocolate Factory, Garrick and Broadway), Committee (Donmar) and The Wars of the Roses (Rose Theatre, Kingston).

Alice spots her friend’s husband with another woman. Should she tell her friend the truth or lie? Her husband Paul is convinced that it is better to lie. But in doing so, who is being protected and who suffers? Both find out that in matters of the heart, the line between the truth and a lie can be a dangerous one to cross.

Presented by arrangement with Theatre Royal Bath Productions.

Read More
The Lie

Show Info

The Lie

by Florian Zeller
translated by Christopher Hampton


14th September – 18th November


Tues – Sat 8pm
Sat & Sun 3:30pm

Additional matinee on Thursday
16th November – 3:30 pm

Running time: 90 mins with no interval.



Samantha Bond

Tony Gardner

Alexandra Gilbreath

Alexander Hanson


Lindsay Posner

Set Design
Anna Fleischle

Costume Design
Loren Elstein

Lighting Design
Howard Harrison

Sound Design
Gregory Clarke

Original Music
Isobel Waller-Bridge